HHS Theater Department Finds Success at 2017 NJ Thespians Competition

HHS Drama and Backstage Clubs Back in the Spotlight at NJ Thespians Competition
Over the weekend the Hoboken High School Drama and Backstage Clubs participated in the NJ Thespians Festival held at Robbinsville High School.  This two-day festival brought in thirty-five high schools from across the state with approximately 1500 students competing in a variety of categories. 

The Hoboken High School Theater Department put its prowess on display again, taking home 12 overall medals!

As a group, the club was awarded 3 acting awards and incredible feedback on their performance of “The Laramie Project” in the Chapter Select One -Act Play category. The judges were particularly impressed with the honesty and truthfulness the performance.

A perfect score in certain National Event categories is rewarded with competition eligibility for the International Festival in Lincoln, Nebraska.

We are very proud of the six students who took home superior medals and invitations to compete in Nebraska this June for the following categories!:

Contrasting Monologues:

Brandon Lyons
David Rivera
Danny Safanova

Duet Acting

Hannah Mack & David Rivera "Dramatic"
Brandon Lyons & Te' Janea Bradley-Johnson "Dramatic"
Danny Safanova & Anthony Sparacino "Comedic" 

We also won the following Non-National Awards:


Casandra Ek Marrufo "Dramatic"
Raul Hernandez "Dramatic"

Technical Olympics Fastest Time Legging A Platform "Backstage Event"

Malcolm Cummins & Da Xia Serrano

Chapter Select Awards for The Laramie Project
1st Place Best Supporting Actor:  David Rivera
2nd Place Best Supporting Actor:  Brandon Lyons
1st Place Best Supporting Actress:  Rebecca Weintraub

The following students participated in this weekends two-day festival: 

Te'Janea Bradley-Johnson
Jeane Cummins
Malcolm Cummins
Demeara Davenport
Raul Hernandez
Theoren Inhulsen
Brandon Lyons
Ivelisse Lorenzo
Hannah Mack
Veronica Mannillo
Casandra Ek Marrufo
Debby Moretti
Andrew Moya
Lizeth Oliva
Alyssa Ortiz
Sophia Ortiz
Aliyah Ramos
David Rivera
Danny Safanova
Anthony Sparacino
Da-Xia Serrano
Rebecca Weintraub 
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.